Musings on Astrology, Change and ‘Coming Out’

The Great Bear; acrylic; by Zuzanna Vee

The Great Bear; acrylic; by Zuzanna Vee

I have been studying astrology for many, many years. Since I was a teen in the early 70s, really. I have studied the stars for far longer. I remember, as a very small person, my dad pointing out the Big Dipper to me in a diamond-studded dark-night sky of the late 1950s. I was immediately hooked. My brother and I would often lie outside identifying the constellations whenever we could.

As an older person I learned that long ago astronomy and astrology had been combined sciences, and I longed for the rift between right-brain and left-brain to be healed once again. When I lived in the English countryside I got back to the night sky in my thirties and studied astrology formally with The White Eagle Lodge. I learned how to draw up astrology charts by hand mathematically. Slow and laborious doesn’t even come close.

Over the years I have devoured a library’s worth of astrology books – there’s always more to learn. Whilst in NYC (2008-2012) a friend gave me a copy of the Kepler computer program and I came across the terms tropical and sidereal zodiacs. I had worked with sidereal coordinates in England, but it was vague – a very long time ago. This piqued my interest. What I discovered was set to change my life over several years.

The process of change is, in retrospect, a study in how one clings to familiarity and how one can take an inordinate amount of time to implement these changes. I had discovered the key to the sacred marriage of astronomy and astrology, but I was tentative, resistant and wary. It disturbed a little too much of what I held dear. I wasn’t ready to change.

Back in North Carolina now, I spend a portion of every clear night with the stars as part of my healing journey. I reacquainted myself with the constellations, stay up for meteor showers and eclipses and cultivate a personal relationship with the heavenly bodies, my friends since I was a child. I continue to study and use astrology.

One morning recently, out of the blue, I had a dream in which I was given to know I needed to study ‘sidereal astrology’. I take my dreams most seriously and when I can create things from them, draw or paint my dreams, and act on them where feasible, I do. I began in earnest. Here’s what I finally embraced:

The astrological system we in the West most commonly use is called tropical astrology and uses the tropical zodiac. It is a patriarchal invention by the ancient Greeks whom the Egyptians called ‘children’ because they had no notion of deep history, the cycles of the Great Year or changes in consciousness brought about by the same. By contrast, the Egyptians counted their history as going back 12,450 years (The Sirius Connection, Murry Hope, p. 222). Some quote a longer historical reckoning. To say that the ancient Egyptians were familiar with the night sky is a gross understatement.

Here’s an interesting quote for historical perspective. Please note: the Babylonian Empire was much later than deep-ancient Egypt.

“The greatest event in the development of astronomy in Greece was the sending of a large collection of Babylonian observation tablets covering, according to Simplicius, some 31,000 years, to Aristotle, by his nephew and pupil, Callisthenes, when Babylon had fallen to Alexander the Great’s arms in B.C. 331.”
(The Greek Zodiac and The Birth of the Moving Zodiac, Chapter 9, The University of Illinois archives)

The tropical zodiac had five different calculations (there was not a consensus for usage) of the equinox based upon the erroneous belief that the equinoxes are always the same, i.e. stable and unmoving. In other words, by the time of the ancient Greek civilization, knowledge of the Precession of the Equinoxes was lost to the memory of humanity as we indeed precessed through the lowest, most degraded era of consciousness, the Kali Yuga (approximately 3102 BCE to 2012 CE), otherwise known as the age of patriarchy. It is currently recognized by science that Hipparchus ‘discovered’ the precession of the equinoxes. However, precession was well known to our deep-ancestors. It is because it was not written down that current science ignores precession’s ancient origins. Our history commences after oral historical times, a sad and dangerous delineation.

Here’s the list of the five tropical zodiacs, their proponents and dates:

12° Aries       Cleostratos of Tenedos     circa 500 BCE
10° Aries       Naburiannu                         circa 500 BCE
15° Aries       Eudoxus                               circa 395 – 337 BCE
8° Aries        Kidinnu                                circa  400 – 301 BCE
0° Aries        Hipparchus                          190 – 120 BCE

Sidereal Astrology, used by the Egyptians, Babylonians, and Assyrians,  takes precession into account (the Jyotish system uses sidereal too). The terrible difference between the two systems I discovered as a knowledgeable stargazer was that when I could see the moon in the constellation of Libra or Jupiter in the constellation of Cancer, up in the sky, astrologers were saying that the moon was in Scorpio and Jupiter was in Leo.

7536032Precession moves glacially, approximately 1° every 72 years. The tropical and sidereal zodiacs, did once briefly match up, but because precession happens, we now have an approximate 24° discrepancy between the two systems. I discovered that as a natal 3° Cancer sun, I was now a 10° Gemini sun. And this is where deep resistance reared its ugly head. It took me a final whole year to embrace sidereal astrology because I just could not think of myself as a Gemini/Sun, Aries/Ascendant even though this is what was in the sky when I was born.

In 287 CE the tropical and sidereal zodiacs matched up for a brief time (24º discrepancy x 72 years, 1º per year precession, minus 2015 CE). This was nearly 450 years after Hipparchus made popular the use of the tropical zodiac at 0° Aries that astrologers use to this day. So, his calculations were actually a brain orgasm, not anything based on observable reality (aka science) even then. As we all have experienced in one way or another, the patriarchy excels in arrogance, domination and selective amnesia.

The axiom, “As above, so below, as within, so without, as the universe, so the soul”, attributed to Hermes Trismegistus, has been dear to me for decades. Now I have discovered that in common-use astrology this is not so. Even astrology, which the patriarchy outwardly condemns, the tools of the Goddess have been usurped: that of the movements in Her night sky.

Therefore, I cannot, in good conscience, continue to use the tropical zodiac. I have had a high magnitude ‘conversion’ experience. For the rest of this year I will continue working with the Great Year and New Moon Healing Cycle through the lens of the tropical zodiac completing the first year’s round, which commenced at the Winter Solstice 2014, and presenting all this information without a gap or repetition. Come the New Year, I will be following the sidereal zodiac, the reflection of my beloved Goddess, and the stars in my observable night sky.

It seems the sacred marriage of astrology and astronomy, astronology, didn’t take the eons I expected. It only required of me to release my prejudices against the shocking and unfamiliar and see what was to be seen. I can now use a natural, observable lens to continue to discover more of what the Oracle at Delphi suggested was a good step: Know Thyself.

Tropical Pisces full moon at 06º 06′ exact: 2:35 pm EDT on August 29.
Where you will see it in the sky: 12º Aquarius

Note: The above is a very personal epiphany for me. I do not castigate any of my many astrologer friends for their use of the tropical zodiac. This article is a matter of informative investigation, not ridicule.

Goddess Astrology is here! A new precedent for astrological knowledge.
Goddess Consciousness Apprenticeships start at any new moon of the year.

I have a Youtube channel, Zuzanna Vee, in which I share “Messages of Light”, channeled messages from The Continuum and The Seas of Long Ago Time.

If you enjoy these articles, please ‘like’ and follow Cycles of Healing on Facebook. Presently (2017), I am not adding to the blog, but may do so in the future. I do astro-updates on Facebook regularly.

About Zuzanna Vee

I am a visual artist and writer exploring the Great Mystery. The Great Goddess is my doorway to numinous wisdom; The Great Year Cycle, my multi-dimensional inspiration. I offer Goddess Consciousness apprenticeships and Goddess Astrology readings and training. Blessings to you all and thanks for reading.
This entry was posted in Full Moon, Herbal, The Goddess, The Great Year and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Musings on Astrology, Change and ‘Coming Out’

  1. Teresa Flora says:

    Fascinating. I am in awe of your diligence and your path in this life. Of course everything is always shifting and changing. My lesson in life!

    Teresa

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! I know nothing about astrology (and now start to see why) but I found this writing beautiful and fascinating. I am awed by your knowledge. I also like the barley water recipe. I was starting to explore that along with herbs in tea-making. At the end of the last chapter in my little book, “Sipping My Garden,” I wrote:

    “Recently, I discovered Fukuoka Masanobu, born in 1913, a Japanese
    farmer and philosopher who is noted, among many accomplishments,
    for his Natural Farming method. I was struck by a quote of his:
    “Only to him who stands where the barley
    stands and listens well, will it speak and tell…”
    Like the barley, the tea herbs will talk to us if we learn how to listen.
    Much to ponder. And what about barley for tea? Looking it up on
    the internet I discover there is such a thing — mugicha, or barley
    tea. I haven’t tried this yet, but it intrigues me to think about it.
    Wonder how it would be combined with herbs?”

    You have inspired me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zuzanna Vee says:

      Wow, Marcia, what thoughtful musings of your own! Yes, I had barley tea when I was in NYC. I had forgotten about that and can’t remember the name. It was lovely though. I think when it is roasted it is not mucilaginous. Thinking of you and your lovely garden at this change of season. XXX

      Like

  3. Hanapeterson@gmail.com says:

    Hi! Jim and I are on vacation in Hawaii and I have more time to read longer posts and I just read almost all of yours and I think you’re amazing brilliant interesting & very cool! I will return especially to your herbal work posts. With love Hana

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zuzanna Vee says:

      Golly, Hana, thank you so much! I really appreciate your taking the time to read all that and to comment. I’m having a blast researching and writing about subjects that fire me up. And, wow – Hawaii. I know you are enjoying yourself. Must be so beautiful.
      Much love to you, and thanks again! -Z

      Like

  4. What an interesting shift. Will be fascinating to see how your exploration of the sidereal system progresses 🙂

    Much Love,

    Bairavee

    Like

  5. Pingback: Winter Solstice 2015 and Gemini Full Moon | Cycles of Healing

  6. Pingback: Sidereal Sagittarius New Moon | Cycles of Healing

  7. Pingback: Full Moon in Cancer, January 23, 2016 | Cycles of Healing

  8. Pingback: February 8, 2016, Capricorn New Moon | Cycles of Healing

  9. Pingback: Full Moon in Leo, February 22, 2016 | Cycles of Healing

  10. Pingback: New Moon in Aquarius, March 8, 2016 & Spring Equinox | Cycles of Healing

  11. Pingback: March Full Moon 2016 in Sidereal Virgo | Cycles of Healing

  12. Pingback: New Moon in Sidereal Pisces April 7, 2016 | Cycles of Healing

  13. Pingback: Full Moon in Sidereal Libra April 22, 2016 | Cycles of Healing

  14. Pingback: Beltane New Moon in Sidereal Aries May 6, 2016 | Cycles of Healing

  15. Pingback: Full Moon in Sidereal Scorpio May 21, 2016 | Cycles of Healing

  16. Pingback: New Moon in Sidereal Taurus June 4, 2016 | Cycles of Healing

  17. Melissa Burgess says:

    Wonderful information. I am on my spiritual journey. Almost everything in this post I have been learning & you have explained it perfectly. I am also a Gemini. I feel more now, that I am more conscious then ever before. Although I have had no formal background of of being taught about consciousness & energy I am feeling a strong need to teach consciousness & have been meeting a lot of people socially & being able to teach consciousness (without mind). I have read books & a vast amount of information that has began this journey. I would love to have the opportunity to talk to someone that is on the same level or that can understand me more. Most of the things lately I have been discovering myself, I feel my conscious has a power that is being shown to me. Something is helping me in finding exactly what I am needing to know at the right times. I am more aware of synchrinicities & being able to match up experiences with what I am needing to learn & understand.

    Like

  18. Pingback: Solstice Full Moon in Sidereal Sagittarius, June 20, 2016 | Cycles of Healing

  19. Pingback: New Moon in Sidereal Gemini July 4, 2016 | Cycles of Healing

  20. Pingback: Full Moon in Sidereal Capricorn July 19, 2016 | Cycles of Healing

  21. Pingback: Lammas New Moon in Sidereal Cancer August 2, 2016 | Cycles of Healing

  22. Pingback: Full Moon in Sidereal Aquarius August 18, 2016 | Cycles of Healing

  23. Pingback: New Moon in Sidereal Leo September 1, 2016 | Cycles of Healing

  24. Pingback: Full Moon in Sidereal Pisces September 16, 2016 and Autumn Equinox September 22nd | Cycles of Healing

  25. Pingback: New Moon in Sidereal Virgo September 30, 2016 | Cycles of Healing

  26. Pingback: Full Moon in Sidereal Pisces October 16, 2016 | Cycles of Healing

  27. Pingback: New Moon in Sidereal Libra October 30, 2016 | Cycles of Healing

Leave a Reply

