Musings on Sirius

For the greater part of my life I have had beautiful, compelling dreams of star filled night skies. Sometimes the stars were dropping out of the sky all around me in a field where I had grown up. Although there is a feeling of awe, and maybe even ‘import’, it is beauty that is most apparent in these dreams. Later, the ‘dream’ stars became recognizable constellations, most often Orion and that portion of the sky known in ancient Egypt as the Duat.

Harmonics; acrylic on canvas

Harmonics; acrylic on canvas; Zuzanna Vee.

Years ago an Indian friend told me that the Orion (the Greek name for Osiris) constellation is known as Rama in India. Orion, near the zodiacal constellation of Gemini, is followed by Sirius in Cancer: Sirius, the Dog Star, and faithful companion of Orion, the Hunter. In ancient Egypt Sirius was called Sopdet or Sothis and is one of the names for Aset (the Greek Isis). Although we really don’t know how to properly pronounce ancient Egyptian, Aset is probably pronounced ‘Ah-seh’, similar to the sound: ‘Isis’. The ‘t’ ending in some Egyptian words denotes the feminine and may not have been sounded.

If Orion is Rama in Hindu mythology, could Sirius be Orion’s consort, Rama’s Sita; Rama who has turned his back on Sita after her virtue has been questioned by his subjects. The Goddess has fallen by the end of the Age of Cancer. The patriarchy is poised to become the new paradigm; the feminine will be abhorred, dishonored, shunned and persecuted for the next 9,000 years.

In early summer of 2001 I had another compelling star dream. I was standing outside in my yard where I was living in ordinary reality. In the night sky was a single star, Sirius. I knew in the dream that I should do a particular yoga balancing posture as I contemplated that portion of the heavens. I did this in the dream with ease. I have worked on this posture ever since then – it is not easy to do outside in the dark, looking upward, wearing winter clothing! But every winter on clear nights, I practice outside in a prayerful attitude toward beautiful, sparkling Sirius. I have no idea what my dreams about Sirius, or the stars generally, mean. I certainly have cultivated a relationship with her over the years.

One of my reveries on Sirius after reading Lost Star of Myth and Time is if Sirius is our sister star and if proximity to her regulates available consciousness on this planet, if we focus on Sirius prayerfully, meditate, or just view her appreciatively with an open heart, might we hasten our movement closer to her, or slow our journey away?

Bits and Pieces

I have read that the Egyptians believed the dead ascend to the Duat or more specifically to Orion. In ancient India it was believed that souls came to earth for incarnation from this area. And most specially: Our new year’s day, was designated via the Greeks originally from the Egyptians, from whom they learned all their philosophy, mathematics and astrology/astronomy: January 1st marks the point at which Sirius is at its zenith, in the south, at midnight on that day.

Ted Andrews says, in Nature-Speak, “…Sirius is more active at the time of the solstices, and Alcyone, is more active and visible at the time of the equinoxes.”

Guilio Magli, and astro-archaeologist at Milan University feels that the enclosures at Gobekli Tepe are oriented south/southeast for a view of Sirius. From around 15,000 BCE (the end of the Age of Libra) Sirius did not rise above the horizon, at the latitude of Gobekli Tepe,  for 5,500 years! It began rising again above the horizon around 10,500 BCE (dates vary). Gobekli Tepe has been found to be between 13,000 to 11,000 years old (thus far). Were the builders anticipating the renewal of all-important Sirius back into the night skies after the age of cataclysms? When Sirius began rising above the horizon again it was to be seen, only at first, for a short period each night. Could this reappearance of Sirius have been what the ancient Egyptians called Zep Tepi, the First Time? Or was the First Time when Sirius was visible prior to 15,000 BCE? Or even further back?

And lastly I would like to mention some authors whom I have come across in my research who have given me a broader perspective on the subject of Sirius. Food for thought, as it were.

  1. Murry Hope/Various
  2. Tom Kenyon/The Hathor Material
  3. Robert Temple/The Sirius Mystery
  4. Walter Cruttenden/Lost Star of Myth and Time

While I am not an adherent of any of these authors per se, and do not necessarily agree across the board with them, they do warrant consideration for their diverse perspectives and experience. This is not intended as an exhaustive list, just some interesting information that I have run across. Do let me know if you have any other material to add to this list that may have escaped me.

In two weeks we begin the Cycle of Healing commencing with the Capricorn New Moon, exact at the Winter Solstice on December 21, 2014. I am looking forward to sharing more with you about the Great Year, the Astrological Ages and how to focus healing with the new moon. Blessings to you all at this lovely time of year; and thank you all so much for reading, sharing and liking these pages.

I have a Youtube channel, Zuzanna Vee, in which I share “Messages of Light”, channeled messages from The Continuum and The Seas of Long Ago Time.

Please visit Western Sidereal Astrology for information about my Astro-readings via video chat. If tarot is more your thing, visit my Tarot page here. I have lots of artwork on the drop-down menu Artwork by Zuzanna

I offer a one-on-one apprenticeship program. For more information, please visit Goddess Consciousness Apprenticeship under the Services menu.

If you enjoy these articles, please ‘like’ and follow Cycles of Healing on Facebook. Presently (2017), I am not adding to the blog, but may do so in the future. I do astro-updates on Facebook regularly.

About Zuzanna Vee

I am a visual artist and writer exploring the Great Mystery. Tarot, Western Sidereal Astrology, and the Great Goddess are my doorways to numinous wisdom; The Great Year Cycle, my multi-dimensional inspiration. Blessings to you all and thanks for reading.
This entry was posted in The Goddess, The Great Year and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Musings on Sirius

  1. I love your discussion on this topic from the reclaiming the older mythology and personal relationship with the stars. I may now think of you whenever I see Sirius in the night sky… although I may choose the Mountan yoga pose as I do. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Zuzanna Vee says:

    Thank you so much, Angela. So happy it resonates with you. I’ll be thinking of you too.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Musings for the Virgo Full Moon 2015 | Cycles of Healing

Leave a Reply

